How to feel successful

There is something about being surrounded by success that makes me feel successful.  There are no new insights her, in fact every self-help writer, business coach and motivational speaker says exactly the same thing – work hard, emulate successful people and you too will be successful.  So I guess one of the first things to do is seek out those successful people and last night I hit the mother lode.

The annual NLOWE Conference took place yesterday at the Sheraton, a gathering of women entrepreneurs from all over Newfoundland for networking, workshops, seminars and the gala dinner where Entrepreneur of the Year Awards were given out.

To say the whole thing was inspiring would be an understatement. Regardless of your business or industry it is both[tweetmeme source=”alisonstoodley” only_single=false] humbling and motivating to hear a fellow woman entrepreneur thank her family, staff and mentors for their support as she accepts an award distinguishing her in her field.

As I drove home I felt renewed to accomplish great things with my business, inspired to push against my limits and motivated to get working – which I did, even though it was 11:00 at night.  I realized in that moment that although my industry is still very new, the ways and means to success are not –work hard, emulate successful people; words of wisdom for someone like me who plans to be at that podium one day!

Leave a Reply

